Hey...
ok before i start i want to say that i'm not a very good programmer... and i'm new with this... and i got a project that i have to submit in 2 days so i badly need help!!

ok the problem is:
I'm using binary file handling, a code snippet i got from internet.... i use it to copy data from a .DAT file to an class object. i use that object through out the program. in the other part i input data in an object and then copy it to a .DAT file... now that was working just fine...
until i wanted to check if the username already exist it shouldn't let it duplicate... therefore i READ the .DAT file before to put a check. but after that it wont write on any file. i got two .DAT files... and it wont write my data on either of them...

file.open("LOGIN.DAT", ios::app | ios::in | ios::binary );
			file.seekg(0); 
			x = 0;
			check =1;

while(x == 0 && check != 0)
			{
				i = 0;
				file.read( reinterpret_cast<char*>(&p2), sizeof(p2) );
				if(strcmp(name,p2.get_name()) == 0)
				{
					i++;
					check =0;
				}

x = file.eof();

}
			file.close();
			}

after this code the next Write procedures stop working... ?? help!!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

later on... i just use this... and yeah before that i make changes to the object files... but that ive checked by debugging mode that it does have my data in it! it just doesn't write it on the file.

file.open("LOGIN.DAT", ios::app | ios::out | ios::binary );
		file.write( reinterpret_cast<char*>(&p1), sizeof(p1));
		file.close();
		file.open("MEM.DAT", ios::app | ios::out | ios::binary );
		file.write( reinterpret_cast<char*>(&per1), sizeof(per1));
		file.close();

Where are p1 and per1 vars class definitions?
Why ios::app for input stream?
"stop working" - what is it?
Can you clearly describe your problem?

umm... those classes are very long and well just have data inputs basically...