Hi, im just beginning c++ and been reading regarding cin and cout. After reading the chapter, I just got curious what acually a stream is. It is said in some as a series of characters. In a site:

"A stream is an abstraction that represents a device on which input and ouput operations are performed. A stream can basically be represented as a source or destination of characters of indefinite length."

Represents a device? Does that mean a stream can come from or is an abstraction if an IO device (mouse, trackball, printer, etc). Please help me get this cleared up.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Printer - yes. Mouse/trackball, not so much. A stream is the source or destination of a series of data, either characters, or in the case of binary files, a sequence of bytes that represent memory content. Since it's an abstraction, you can operate on any stream in the same manner - it doesn't matter if you're reading characters from a console (keyboard) with cin or from a file with an ifstream object.

Ok, What you want is a bit informal explanation.
Think of stream as a virtual device (presumably a printer). You are give functions to read/write to that device. You actually don't differentiate if that device is actually your monitor, your printer, the hard disk, or the RAM. What you know is that if you have to write or read any of these devices, you can use the same set of functions to do so.
In C++, there are filestream (which can be assume to be a device as hard disk), memorystream( which can be assume to be a device as your RAM), iostream (which can be assume to be a device as monitor for printing and k/b for reading).

You can use the same >> and << operators to read/write from a file, memory, monitor/keyboard, without knowing the specification of each. Thus you save remembering exclusive function for each of these devices.

vmanes, siddhant3s: