Hi, I'm new to C++, I learned to program in Java first. I'm having trouble getting this to work. I'm writing a text based version of battleship. It was going well until i tried to set the size of the ship. I'm using an int array to check to see if the ship has been hit. When i try to set the array size in my constructor, the compiler yells are me =[. Could someone please tell me what's wrong?
Ship.h

#ifndef _SHIP_H
#define	_SHIP_H

enum possition{
    HORIZONTAL, // 0
    VERTICAL    // 1
};

class Ship {
    private:
        int x; //x-pos
        int y; //y-pos
        int size; //length of ship
        int pos; // horizontal or vertical
        int hit[]; // 0=safe, 1=hit
    public:
        Ship(int x, int y, unsigned int size, int pos);
        bool isHit(int x, int y);
        int getX(){return x;}
        int getY(){return y;}
        int getSize(){return size;}
        int getPos(){return pos;}

~Ship();
};

#endif	/* _SHIP_H */

Ship.cpp

#include "ship.h"

Ship::Ship(int x, int y, unsigned int size, int pos) { // init values for ship
    this->x=x;
    this->y=y;
    this->size=size;
    this->pos=pos;
    int dummyArray[size];
    this->hit=dummyArray; // I think this is the problem... How do i fix it?
}

bool Ship::isHit(int x, int y){//does a guess hit this ship?
    if(getPos()==VERTICAL){
        if(getX()!=x)return false; // not in the same column
        if(y>getY() && y<getY()+getSize()){
            this->hit[y-getY()]=1;
            return true;
        }
    }
    if(getPos()==HORIZONTAL){
        if(getY()!=y)return false; // not in the same row
        if(x>getX() && x<getX()+getSize()){
            this->hit[x-getX()]=1;
            return true;
        }
    }
}

Ship::~Ship() {
}

And this is the error I'm getting:

Running "C:\cygwin\bin\make.exe  -f Makefile CONF=Debug" in C:\Documents and Settings\Neil\My Documents\NetBeansProjects\Battle Ship

/usr/bin/make -f nbproject/Makefile-Debug.mk SUBPROJECTS= .build-conf