Hello,

I am new to the Python language and I am having difficulty with the print statement. For example, when I type print 4, or print "Hello", i get an error. The error message is:

SyntaxError: invalid syntax (<pyshell#2>, line 1)

When I use python on other computers, the print statement works perfect. The version of Python that I am using that is generating the errors is 3.0.1(GUI). Any help is appreciated.

-Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Member Avatar for leegeorg07

well thats quite a simple problem

I assume that you're using an old tutorial and thats where the problem is.
before python3 you could just use:

print "hello"

but in python 3 print is now a function so you use:

print("hello")

Excellent, thank you. I have another question, which my be because I am using this old tutorial. In the tutorial it shows the following:

print "First Line."
threeLines()
print "Second Line."

Then it shows the output of the program as:

First Line.

Second Line.

My question is, why when I try the example, I have to do each line one by one and not all together. I have to type a print statement, wait for an output, then type the next and so on.

Thank you.

Are you using the Python Shell (>>> prompts), or an editor like the IDLE editor?

This maybe?:

print("First Line")
input()
print()  # Blank line 1
input()
print()  # Blank line 2
input()
print()  # Blank line 3
input()
print("Second Line")

Each input() just waits for you to press enter before continuing.

Are you using the Python Shell (>>> prompts), or an editor like the IDLE editor?

I think there using IDLE because they said (GUI), and the program IDLE in startup is called "IDLE (Python GUI)".

Well the book that I have is called "How to think like a Computer Scientist: Learning with Python" Printed in 2002. The version of Python on my computer is Python 3.0 IDLE(GUI). What version would you say the example that I posted from the book is in?

Thank you