Hello all,

I have a small problem that I would like to ask for help on. I appreciate anyone's reply.

I have to convert a program of mine over to C#, however, I am new at C#. I know a good amount of VB.NET, but the C# language is a little foreign to me.

My vb code is:

Private Sub PassOKButton_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles PassOKButton.Click
        If _userTextBox.Text = My.Settings.Username AndAlso _passTextBox.Text.GetHashCode() = My.Settings.PasswordHashcode Then
            MessageBox.Show("Access Granted!")
            MessageBox.Show("You must login everytime to access the Admin Panel!")
            AdminPanel.Label3.Visible = False
            AdminPanel.Show()
            Me.Close()

Else
            MessageBox.Show("Wrong Username or Password")
        End If

and I have tried to redo it and I am getting stuck. My C# code is:

private void _loginbtn_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            if (_usernametxt == Properties.Settings.Default.adminusername && _passwordtxt.Text.GetHashCode() == Properties.Settings.Default.adminpass)
            {
                MessageBox.Show("Wrong Username and/or Password.", "Admin Login",
                  MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Exclamation);

this.Close();
            }
            else
            {
                MessageBox.Show("Wrong Username or Password");

}

}
    }

}

but I am throwing errors. Everytime I try to fix one another couple errors appear.

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong.

Thank you in advanced

daveofgv

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

If _userTextBox.Text in the VB.NET code seems like a TextBox to me. In the C#.NET code it looks like a private string field of a the class, not a TextBox field. Then it should be _usernametxt.Text instead of _usernametxt .

Thanks for the reply.

It is saying:

Operator '&&' cannot be applied to operands of type 'string' and 'int'

And

Invalid expression term '&&'