I'm brand new to python (and programming) and trying to write a script that will download a .csv from the Internet and then allow me to plot data from the .csv. I already have the plot working, and I can grab the file locally, but I can't figure out how to download it using the script. I've been reading about httplib and urllib2 but I'm confused. Can anyone help?

Also, eventually I'll be downloading from an https link where I'll have to provide credentials. For now, however, I'm not worrying about that part. Just downloading any old file from an http link will get me further than where I'm currently at! Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I think this is what you're looking for:

urllib.urlretrieve(url_of_file, destination_on_local_filesystem)

Note this could vary depending on what version of Python you have. This is from 2.5... Other versions of python can use something like:

urllib.request.urlretrieve(url, local_file_name)

I think this is what you're looking for:

urllib.urlretrieve(url_of_file, destination_on_local_filesystem)

Thanks for the help...I'm getting the following error:

IOError                                   Traceback (most recent call last)

C:\Python25\lib\urllib.pyc in retrieve(self, url, filename, reporthook, data)
    223         headers = fp.info()
    224         if filename:
--> 225             tfp = open(filename, 'wb')
    226         else:
    227             import tempfile

IOError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: 'c:'

All users and groups have full permissions to the c: drive. Any ideas what the problem might be?

Can you display the relevant bit of code that you're calling the urlrequest with?

Can you display the relevant bit of code that you're calling the urlrequest with?

import urllib
urllib.urlretrieve('url', 'c:')

That's it.

Let me get this straight... you want to replace your C: drive with a non-existant file called 'url' ?[/snark]