Hi, I am pretty new to C++ but have lots of experience in java/c# and know the basics (classes/structures/pointers etc) but am having some problems linking to external source libraries.

I am trying to use something called the openframeworks which I have downloaded and I need to include "\libs\openFrameWorks\ofMain.h" but when I do this it complains about all the includes that that file links to (which are in subdirectories of openFrameWorks folder) and I have to add a dependency to every subdirectory in the library.

Is there a better way of doing this, I understand that you cant automatically add all subdirectories but my Additonal Dependencies list is getting stupidly long.

Thanks in advance, sorry for being noobish

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

it depends on the compiler rather than C++, you should see the compiler reference manual.

I'm not sure which compiler you're using, but usually you'd register any 3rd party libraries with your compiler.

e.g. In Visual Studio 2003 you'd:
In the Solution Explorer, right click on your project and select 'properties'.
In the property pages, select the 'C/C++->General' item in the tree.
Now select the 'Additional Include Directories' in the form and click on the '...' button. This will bring up a dialog which will allow you to add the path to the include folder of your library.
To do this, click on a blank line in the list (or add one using the folder icon and then select it). Next select the '...' button and use the popup dialog to navigate your way to the libraries include folder.

So that's the first part, the headers for your library are registered with the IDE. Next you need to ensure that the linker knows where to find the precompiled library files (usually found in the lib folder).