Hey guys. I am new to Java programming and I am having a lot of difficulty figuring out how to get the proper functionality out of my first, last, next, and previous buttons. First, I was wondering if my button setup is correct:

// helper method that creates panel for buttons
  private JPanel createButtonPanel() // returns a Jpanel
  {
        ActionListener btnListen = new ButtonListener(); // create my listerner

// Create button objects
        firstButton = new JButton("First"); // create button object
        firstButton.setActionCommand("First"); // add actionCommand
        firstButton.addActionListener(btnListen); // add Listener command

nextButton = new JButton("Next"); // create button object
        nextButton.setActionCommand("Next"); // add actionCommand
        nextButton.addActionListener(btnListen); // add Listener command

previousButton = new JButton("Previous"); // create button object
        previousButton.setActionCommand("Previous"); // add actionCommand
        previousButton.addActionListener(btnListen); // add Listener command

lastButton = new JButton("Last"); // create button object
        lastButton.setActionCommand("Last"); // add actionCommand
        lastButton.addActionListener(btnListen); // add Listener command

// Create panel object

JPanel panel = new JPanel(); // instantiate a new JPanel

panel.add(firstButton); // add firt button to panel
        panel.add(nextButton);   // add next button to panel
        panel.add(previousButton); // add previous button to panel
        panel.add(lastButton);   // add last button to panel

return panel; // return the panel

}

If so, I am sure that there needs to be embedded if statments that perform the looping for the next and previous buttons. The first and last buttons just need to be assigned to the first and last object in my array, so that is not a problem.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Option A) Create general action listener for all of them

{
    // Create button objects