Hi Guys and Gals,

I am new to programming and I decided to write my self a simple class to help me with my uni work. It is just to save me writing to screen then using the scanner class to read the input. It would be easier with a one line of code and a class.

anInt = PromptGetInput.typeInt("Please enter the first int: ");

Basically I call the class with the desired method (that related to the data type that i would like to read in from the keyboard). I pass in a string as an argument and the method displays the string to the screen and then reads in the relative data type from the scanner class. The input is then returned. Not rocket science I know.. but hey I am learning and nothing like growing my knowledge of java over the weekend.

Something I have not learned yet at Uni is error checking/handling. So I decided I would go out on a mission to learn about this to add this to my class. My class is almost there, but I am stuck on something and I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I cannot seam to find what I want in the SDK.

Now the below code of mine is not the class I was talking about, as I thought I would try it in another program that they had me write (basic i know) (I am using this as it is already written and I dont want to write a main to test my class). But the problem is expressed in the same way.

The issue is that I want to be able to catch if the input is valid for an int data type. BUT I also want to have it loop around continually until it gets the correct input. So if you see the current code with the dowhile loop it is not working, well it works.. but I want to compact these two lines into 1 line -

validInput = keyboard.hasNextInt();
a = keyboard.nextInt();