The problem I'm having is this:

I have a table [MAX_ELEMENTS] [18] where the MAX elements can be as high as 100,000. The length of each element is 18 characters.

What I doing is simply loading in full 18 character records into this table.

The problem I'm having is that these fields are actually two fields and I'm trying to separate them where the first field is 12 characters and the second field is 6 (total of 18).

I tried "memcpy" for loops and nothing seems to work except that the single field can be copied into a single 18 character variable. But even after that, I can't separate them into two variables.

It appears that the only thing I can do is move the 18 cell from the table to the 18 variable and write the 18 character field into an output (as one field) instead of two (where I'm unable to manipulate or reformat these actual two values.

I'm new to C/C++, so I appreciate any help on this.

Thanks,

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

You may like this trick. :) If you treat your records as strings then you can easily place them in a single array and work with them using standard string operations. The cost is two extra characters per element.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>

#define MAX_ELEMENTS 2

char table[MAX_ELEMENTS][20];

void insert_record ( const char *record, int row )
{
  memcpy ( table[row], record, 12 );
  memcpy ( table[row] + 13, record + 12, 6 );
}

void print_record ( int row )
{
  printf ( "%s\n", table[row] );
  printf ( "%s\n", table[row] + 13 );
}

int main ( void )
{
  insert_record ( "abcdefghijkl123456", 0 );
  insert_record ( "lkjihgfedcba654321", 1 );
  print_record ( 0 );
  print_record ( 1 );
}

If the cost is too much for you then you can use fixed widths and forget about strings with only minor changes:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>

#define MAX_ELEMENTS 2

char table[MAX_ELEMENTS][18];

void insert_record ( const char *record, int row )
{
  memcpy ( table[row], record, 12 );