I'm very new to python, as you will discover with my newb question, I am trying to create a project that prints out Ascii Banners EG

_________ _________ _______ _______ _______
|\ /|\__ __/ \__ __/|\ /|( ____ \( ____ )( ____ \
| ) ( | ) ( ) ( | ) ( || ( \/| ( )|| ( \/
| (___) | | | | | | (___) || (__ | (____)|| (__
| ___ | | | | | | ___ || __) | __)| __)
| ( ) | | | | | | ( ) || ( | (\ ( | (
| ) ( |___) (___ | | | ) ( || (____/\| ) \ \__| (____/\
|/ \|\_______/ )_( |/ \|(_______/|/ \__/(_______/

Its meant to say HI THERE,lol.

I have the a txt file with all characters on it, but i'm not sure where to go forward from there..

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Well then, what does your text file have in it? Could you post an example please?

Oh sorry..

It works best to open it with wordpad..

:D

Member Avatar for leegeorg07

i would say you would need to save each one in a different file, and then open each one, using .readlines().

and then use a for loop, to iterate over each one, printing line after line of it all together?

I am very keen to stick with the one file, i am sure that there is a way to complete this with just the one file. Anyone?

I can help you, but I can't write the code for you, so

Step 1: build a python list containing all the lines of the file and print it.
Step 2: remove the trailing \r\n at the end of each line
Step 3: how can your program find the lines corresponding to the letter M in the list ? Print these lines.

commented: I agree +8

I'm very new to python,

Depends entirely on your level of knowledge. If you understand dictionaries, then that would be the easiest to understand. The dictionary key would be the letter, pointing to a list of values. For any letter, list_value[0] would be the first line, list_value[1] the second, etc. So if you want to print "HELLO", you would use

string_to_print = "HELLO"
for row in range(0, num_rows_for_any_letter):
   row_to_print = ""
   ##---  print next row for each letter