I don't know what to do... I've been trying for weeks to figure out the problem. You see, I'm supposed to make a game, as a project for school. Since it's going to be a rather large game, I decided not to flood the main file with a bunch of images and such. Instead, I tried to put the images in another program, as I've learned that the "main" program can call upon the smaller ones.

But... It won't read the image! If I copy the code to the main file then it works perfectly, so why does it make such a fuss when put into another file? I don't know where to turn, please help me even if it's something stupidly easy...

import java.awt.*;
import java.awt.event.*;
import javax.swing.*;

public class Panels
{
	static void floorpanel1(int x, int y, Graphics g)
	{

Image fp1 = Toolkit.getDefaultToolkit().getImage("graphics/Scrapfloor1.gif");
		Rectangle hitground = new Rectangle(x, y, 60, 1);

g.drawImage(fp1,x,y, 60, 60,this);
	}
}

This is the code for the side-program. I'm still learning as I go along... It's called upon to be in the "paint" part of the main program.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

If you put that code in your main class then the "this" on line 13 refers to an instance of the main class. When the same code is in class Panels, "this" refers to an instance of Panel. So maybe that's why the drawimage is doing something different?

That's most likely it - but what do I replace it with? If I just remove it, it won't be recognized. If I try putting in the name of the main program, gameinit, then it thinks it's a program and says it can't recognize it...

Can yu pass it as an extra parameter when you call floorpanel1?

Extra parameter...? I'm sorry, I don't quite understand. How would that help? What would it do?

Assuming you are calling floorpanel1 from your main class, you can change the signature of the method to
static void floorpanel1(int x, int y, Graphics g, ImageObserver io)
and use the extra parameter in the drawimage call