Hi everyone,

I'm a javascript/actionscript/java/ruby developer who's been given a project that must be done in Sharepoint. One of the tasks of the project is I have to write a console application that replicates data from the secure sharepoint site and pushes it out to a public site in a read-only format. Some of the data is transformed before it's sent to the public site, and somewhere during this tranformation or file transfer process I'm getting a bunch of weird characters in my content.

I'm using the HTMLAgilityPack to read and navigate the content of the sharepoint site and a bunch of Xpath transformations and regex's to handle the transformations of the content itself. Things like spaces, empty divs, quotation marks, etc in the content are changing into things that look like this:

double quotes become "â€"

single quotes become "’"

"<div> </div>" becomes "<div>Â </div>"

Can anyone explain to me why this is happening? This is my 1st sharepoint project, 1st .NET project in about 8 years, and 1st C# project. I've been impressed with the speed of development so far, and really hope I can figure out where these strange characters are coming from! If this project goes well, I may actually consider developing in C# on a regular basis. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Can you upload a small sample project demonstrating this behavior? Include a data file that is being translated and the libraries required to compile the project. This could be an encoding issue but its hard to say since you're doing transformations on the data.

Hi and thanks.

I've a frozen version of my project at:

http://www-app6.wa.gov/disit/dev/athena/AthenaConsole.zip

You will not be able to access the remove files on our Secure sharepoint server, but the unaltered files are included in the /unaltered directory, so you can see the source files there.