Hi all,

I am somewhat new to templates, but slowly realizing it is very powerful.

Facing a problem. I have a template class.

template <typename T>
class myTemplateClass
{
//Some code here
};

In another class I need to create a fixed number of Objects of the above template class at run time. So what I did is

class myTemplateClassFactory
{
private:
        myTemplateClass * templateClassPtrArray[10];
public:

void CreateTemplateClassObject(int index, int type)
{
// Create an int Object
    if (type == 1)
   {
      templateClassPtrArray[index] = new myTemplateClass <int>();
   }
// Create a char Object
    if (type == 2)
   {
      templateClassPtrArray[index] = new myTemplateClass <char>();
   }
// A large number of other types are there.

}
};

This code will not compile because I am trying to assign a myTemplateClass <int> pointer or myTemplateClass <char> pointer to myTemplateClass pointer.

How many objects of each type (int or char), I need to create, is known only at run time, say it can be 1 int and 9 char, 5 int and 5 char etc. But the total number of Object is known i.e 10.

Can we declare a pointer array that can hold myTemplateClass pointer of any type?

Using void pointer will not help much, since it needs a lot of type casting that may introduce bugs. Also it calls for type tracking of each object, which is nasty.

Thanks in advance,
Prem

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hi!

I would create a base class, from which the myTemplateClass will inherit.

like this:

class TemplateClassBase{};

template<class C>class myTemplateClass : TemplateClassBase{};

This should be a list:

myTemplateClass * templateClassPtrArray[10];

This is better:

std::list<TemplateClassBase*> templateClassPtrArray;
templateClassPtrArray.push_back( new myTemplateClass<int>() );
templateClassPtrArray.push_back( new myTemplateClass<char>() );

Code is NOT tested, was written from scratch.

When you have no problem to save anything.

I hope i was clear :/