I don't want to know each and everything in C++, but I wan't to know what do I need to be able to Code a good big app like Notepad++?

I mean what it takes to be a best C++ expert?
(Or how did the Ancient Dragon became expert ;) )
Thanks guys & girls

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

An education in programming helps. But most of all: *a lot* of practice. The best thing is to have a job in the C++-field, because you can pick up a lot form co-workers and you'll constantly get new projects which will push the boundaries of your knowledge.

Despite working as a programmer for several years, I wouldn't consider myself an expert per se. I'm still learning new things every day. But I'd have to echo what niek_e said and say that the main thing you need on the road to becoming an expert is experience with the language.

Some kind of formal qualification or degree in an IT/Software related discipline would also help, but is by no means essential!
I'm getting along fine without a degree, but I do hold a vocational qualification in 'C', which actually helped get me into my first junior C++ programmer position.

Anyway, the main thing is experience.

Experience can be gained through:
Designing and writing your own applications - This goes without saying. Although, I find that debugging your own programs is the most useful experience of all!

Looking at open source code - Possibly even contributing some code to an open source project. Any code submitted to an open source project is usually scrutinised by several other members of that project. So they'll point out any flaws in your code/logic and will give you good pointers on how to improve your code.