I'm new to C++. I want to know if there's any way to shorten this code.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int a, b, result;

int main () //Addition (main function of this program)
{

cout << "Lets add numers\nEnter you first number\n";

cin >> a; //First value
    cin.clear ();
    cin.get ();
    cout << endl;

cout << "Enter your second number\n";

cin >> b; //Second value
    cin.clear ();
    cin.get ();
    cout << endl;

result = a + b; //Adds the values together
    cout << result; //Displays the result
    cout << endl;

//this will check to see if result is even or odd
    if (result % 2 == 0) cout << "your result is even";
    else cout << "your result is odd";

cin.clear ();
    cin.get ();
    return 0;
}

Also if you see something I did, and there's a better way for it, please explain to me how I could do it better.

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

>using namespace std;
You can remove this line by explicitly qualifying the std namespace on your names.

>cin.clear ();
>cin.get ();
>cout << endl;

These lines are unnecessary. Further, you can merge the input into a single prompt:

std::cout<<"Enter two numbers: ";
std::cin>> a >> b;

>cout << result; //Displays the result
>cout << endl;

These lines can be merged (and endl is often unnecessary):

std::cout<< result <<'\n';

>if (result % 2 == 0) cout << "your result is even";
>else cout << "your result is odd";

You can make use of the ternary operator here:

std::cout<<"Your result is "<< (result % 2 ? "odd" : "even") <<'\n';

>std::cout<< result <<'\n';
>std::cout<<"Your result is "<< (result % 2 ? "odd" : "even") <<'\n';

These two lines can be merged, but the line length starts getting awkward:

std::cout<< result <<"\nYour result is "<< (result % 2 ? "odd" : "even") <<'\n';

>cin.clear ();
>cin.get ();
>return 0;

These are all unnecessary.

All suggestions included:

#include <iostream>

int main()
{
  int a, b, result;

std::cout<<"Enter two numbers: ";
  std::cin>> a >> b;