I am currently having somewhat of a brain stump here. I am programming in a larger project and well, it's on the move to c++. the source code is all c we compile by using a makefile.

There is a file with several functions we are taking one removing everything in that function except the function name(since it's being used already) and calling that function from the cpp folder/file? I am not very experienced in this conversion type. In the cpp folder there would be another file with that function in c++ using some c functions in it and would compile with one makefile.

How would I go about doing this? by creating a header file for each file .cpp file? I am discovering that there has to be a way to incorporate or do it this way.
some instruction in the right direction would be nice. If you still do not understand it. Let me explain another way? Lets say you have a function you want to convert it to c++, but cannot due to it being in hundreds of other places, so you have to do it bit by bit. how do you leave that function void fun in the c file and redirect it to another c++ file with a redesigned updated version of the same function??

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I have not directly had to change over from c to c++ for a large number of files but there are couple of things to perhaps clarify in your questions.

I think that what you have is effectively a file called "functions.h"
In a functions.c file you have defined several functions:
fun1()
fun2()

and what you are trying to do is change the definitions and inner workings of the function but not what the function is doing.

IF you are using a function in lots of places it is safe to assume that the current version of the function performs the task as you want it to. Therefore, it can be used to test that your new c++ version is still working properly. Most C code should run within c++so the old c code can be used as a starting point.