okay so im new to programming and have an assignment im not sure how to do the question is.

The original U.S. income tax of 1913 was quite simple. The tax was

1 percent on the first $50 000
2 percent on the amount over $50 000 up to $ 75 000
3 percent on the amount over $75 000 up to $100 000
4 percent on the amount over $100 000 up to $ 250 000
5 percent on the amount over $250 000 up to $ 500 000
6 percent on the amount over $500 000

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

You need to ask a question about what you don't understand. Not just post your assignment:
1) it looks like you want us to do it for you
2) we have no idea what you're having trouble with

When posting, details are more important than posting the assignment.

yeah i understand lol uhm i think i have kind of started to figure it out if it doenst work i will post what i have done so far wondering why it does not work thanks.

well this is what i have so far and it doesnt work and im not quite sure why

#include <iostream>

int main ()
{
int itrate;
float salary,itax,nsalary=0;
cout << "Enter the salary : ";
cin>>salary;
if(salary<50000)
{
	itax=salary*1/100;
itrate=1;
}

1 / 1000 = 0. Integer math has no decimals.

You need floating point math: 1.0/1000.0 has decimals.

Okay so I finished what i though was right but yeah, it doens't work here is what i have, just wondering if you could possibly tell me where it is not working cause like I mentioned I have just started a month ago and am not able to pick up easily on mistakes. this is what i have

#include <iostream.h>
#include <conio.h>

void main ()
{
clrscr();
int itrate;
float itax;
cout << "Enter the salary :";
cin >> salary;
if(salary>500000)
{
itax=salary*6.0/100.0;
itrate=6.0;
}
else if (salary>250000
{
itax=salary*5.0/100.0;
itrate=5.0;
}
else if (salary>100000
{
itax=salary*4.0/100.0;
itrate=4.0;
}
else if (salary>75000
{
itax=salary*3.0/100;
itrate=3.0;
}
else if (salary>50000
{
itax=salary*2.0/100;
itrate=2.0;
}
else (salary>25000
{