I'm using this website as a reference and am modifying some code to (hopefully) have it work the way I'd like it to.

I think I'm close, but since I have no experience with custom paramaterized output manipulators (and have limited experience with custom output manipulators even) I'm kind of caught up.

My functions, with how I believe is the way I'd like to have the parameters issued, is:

First, within the class's header that will be using these manipulators I'd define these:

typedef map<ostream *, string> FlagMap;
static FlagMap Flags;

Then, outside of the class but within the header the following will be there:

struct yearManip {};
extern void year(yearManip x);
typedef void(*yearPtr)(yearManip);
extern ostream &operator << (ostream &out, yearPtr);[/code]

In the cc file, I'd have this:

Calendar::FlagMap Calendar::Flags;

void year(yearManip x) {}
ostream &operator << (ostream &out, yearPtr) {
    Calendar::Flags[&out] = "year";
    return out;
}

The above compiles happily, even when given an int as a parameter to the manipulator.

My problem is that I don't know how to retrieve the value of the int that's entered as a parameter for the manipulator. In the case above, my program will (as if on a calendar) display the one full calendar year that is entered as a number within the parameter).
Example of intended code usage:

Calendar mine;
cout << year(2010) << mine << endl;

The above would output the full calendar year for the year 2010.

I have all of the functions working correctly, already, but am having trouble understanding how to retrieve the parameter value so I can use the functions in this manipulator.

Can someone please help me understand how to retrieve that value so I can use it? It wouldn't be used by the user in any way...or in the final program. Just within the "Calendar" class's header and source file

Thanks in advance
-Josh

EDIT:
For example, this is the code I specifically need help with:

void year(yearManip x) {}