What a great site! I'm looking fo a hint. I'm new to any type of programming and this C code just doesn't seem to be working.
I have attempted a program that gives the ohm value of a resistor when the color code is entered in. I am using an "enum" data type to assign a number value to each color code. The program will run but after I enter the first code, it jumps to the end and displays a nonsense answer. I'm just looking for a hint. I'm sure my mistake is obvios, just not to me. Any help will be great.

//#include <stdio.h>
#include <math.h>
#include<stdlib.h>

typedef enum {black, brown, red, orange, yellow, green, blue, violet, gray, white} color_code_t;

int main()
{
    int x;
    int y;
    double z;

double res_value = 0;

printf("...more explanation goes here, later...\n\n\n");

printf("black is %d\n", black);
    printf("brown is %d\n", brown);
    printf("red is %d\n", red);
    printf("orange is %d\n", orange);
    printf("yelllow is %d\n", yellow);
    printf("greeen is %d\n", gray);
    printf("blue is %d\n", blue);
    printf("violet is %d\n", violet);
    printf("gray is %d\n", gray);
    printf("white is %d\n", white);

/*get input, one color at a time*/

printf("\t\t What color is the first band?\n=>");
    scanf("%d", &x);

printf("\t\t What color is the second band?\n =>");
    scanf("%d", &y);

printf("\t\t What color is the third band?\n=>");
    scanf("%lf", &z);

/*the math*/

res_value = ((x * 10) + y) * pow(10,z);

printf("\t\t The resistor value is %f ohms.\n",  res_value);

return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

A couple questions and a statement.
Is your compiler or you linking the math library for the pow() function?

What do you enter at the first prompt? A number (integer) or the label? Do you enter `blue' or do you enter `6'?

Here's the statement. You need to uncomment the stdio.h header file if you want printf(), and scanf() to work.

A couple questions and a statement.