I am very new with VB and am using Access2000 to try to find a Table in ALL mdb's located under Z:\ and look in all mdbs in all folders and subfolders. I need not to see information but to have someone actually help me with this code. There has to be a simple way to do this and keep this code to use a combo box and input into table. This code works well but I have several hundred databases I need to look for and too much to type in for every search. Thanks. :rolleyes:

Can someone help please.

Private Sub Form_Open(Cancel As Integer)
Dim strFile As String
Dim strPath As String

CurrentDb.Execute "DELETE * FROM tblTables"
strPath = "c:\"
strFile = Dir(Z:\ & "*.mdb")

While strFile <> ""
CurrentDb.Execute "INSERT INTO tblTables (TableName, DatabaseName) SELECT Name,'" & strPath & strFile & "' FROM MSysObjects IN '" & strPath & strFile & "' WHERE Name = 'bottling'"

strFile = Dir()
Wend
Me!Combo0.Requery

End Sub

One solution that I'm fond of, in order to make VB search an entire drive is to shell a dos command of dir and redirect it into a file. Then open the file (which will contain a list of all paths to the files of a specific criteria), read in the paths line for line, and do something accordingly. For example:

dim wsh
dim PathList() as string
ReDim PathList(0)
set wsh = createobject("WScript.Shell")
wsh.run "dir /a/s/b z:\*.mdb >Z:\tmpfile.dat", 0, 1
open "z:\tmpfile.dat" for input as #1
     do until eof(1)
          line input #1, tmp
          PathList(ubound(PathList())) = tmp
          redim preserve PathList(UBound(PathList()) + 1)
     loop
close #1
kill "z:\tmpfile.dat"