How would I write this?
I am new to C++ and am trying to write this but don't really have any idea how?

I tried to outline it first so I could do it step by step, but now that I have outlined it I am stuck one how to do it?

This is my outline.

int main( )
{ 
	declare el, pl as strings to store an English line, Pig Latin line;

prompt for and get English line (use gets);
	while (line is not equal to “!!!”)
   	{  
		translate(el, pl);
      		output Pig Latin line to the screen and to a file;
      		prompt for and get English line (use getline);
	}

system("pause");
	return 0;
}

void translate(const char el[ ], char pl[ ])
{ 
	declare ew, pw as c-strings to store an English, Pig Latin word;
   	declare ep, pp as integer variables that tell the current positions in el, pl;

initialize current positions ep, pp to be the beginning of el, pl, i.e. initialize them to 0;
   	while (not at end of el)
      	if (character at current position in el is a letter)
      	{
		extract word from el that starts from current position and store in ew;
          	translate word ew to Pig Latin and store in pw;
          	copy pw at current end of pl;
          	make sure ep, pp are now set to positions just past the word;
      	}
      	else
      	{
          	copy character unchanged to current position in pl;
          	increment ep, pp;
      	}

Null terminate the string pl;
}

can someone walk me through how I would do each of these steps ... or maybe just some of them piece by piece so I can understand how to do it.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Do you want to create a program which takes in an english string and then outputs the same string in another language?

That can't be computed by C++, you would have to create a database of english word -> latin word.

Well I need to translate a sentence from English to Piglatin.

My instructor wrote some guide lines and I tried creating an outline of what I needed to do to fit the guidelines.

Guidelines: