Hi guys ,I have written a program which filter the text using replace function.What i want to do is to create another class and do all the filtering over there .How can i achieve this.I am pretty new to C# so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Why don't you use a method instead of a class?

Add this above public Form1() { ...

string FilterText(string text)
{
   // do all the filtering here
}

And you can use it like this:

string text = "Hello, World.";

text = FilterText(text);

Thanks

And if you really NEED to do it in another class, it'd just be an abstraction of what farooqaaa provided above but would require an appropriate constructor for the class object allowing pass-in of the string you're filtering.

The Filtertext fuction, how will i access that as i suppose this will be in another class.So should i create an instance of another class like

Class2 class = new Class2

The Filtertext fuction, how will i access that as i suppose this will be in another class.

If you are following farooqaaa's suggestion it doesn't need to be in another class, it can be a function within your main program and therefor doesn't require an instanciation of a new class to perform. Simply insert the function within your code outside of your other functions and call it as required in the way that farooqaaa indicated.

All *I* was saying is that it is POSSIBLE to create it as a function of an external class, not that it was better to do so. Unless you have a specific purpose or need for separating it to an external class it would be easier/better to simply include it in your main program area.

Posted above is not a class, instead he has suggested you use a method which is called by simply:
text = FilterText(text);
(as it says in his post)

Note that a method comes inside a class, e.g.

Class Program
{
   static void Main()
   {
      string text = "text";
      text = FilterText(text);
   }

static string FilterText(string text)
   {