Hi.

I am new to C# and a little stuck on arguments to pass to an external function.

The intelisense tells me the function has these parameters

void LPP.XRS_Search(int x, int y, int w, int z, int cl, int vr, int sp, int[] PointResult)

here is my call

int[] pxscoords = new int[2];
LPP.XRS_Search(0, 0, 1024, 768, 16777215, 0, 1, pxscoords);

here is my error

Quote:
An unhandled exception of type 'System.AccessViolationException' occurred in csharpsearchtest.exe

Additional information: Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt.

I suspect that the last parameter should be a pointer to an array, but Im new so I do not really know.

I would appreciate some seasoned advice if possible.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Hi.

I am new to C# and a little stuck on arguments to pass to an external function.

The intelisense tells me the function has these parameters

void LPP.XRS_Search(int x, int y, int w, int z, int cl, int vr, int sp, int[] PointResult)

here is my call

int[] pxscoords = new int[2];
LPP.XRS_Search(0, 0, 1024, 768, 16777215, 0, 1, pxscoords);

here is my error

Quote:
An unhandled exception of type 'System.AccessViolationException' occurred in csharpsearchtest.exe

Additional information: Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt.

I suspect that the last parameter should be a pointer to an array, but Im new so I do not really know.

I would appreciate some seasoned advice if possible.

From what I see, you're passing an empty array to the method call.

In other words, you create the array, but you don't set any values before you pass it as your argument. And because you've only defined the elements, but not set them to any value ... your guess is as good as mine, what values you're actually passing (if you aren't passing nulls).