""" Hi i intended to list the built-in function using this function. It seems however to give me the results corresponding with a dictionary. Why is that ? """"

def showbuiltins():

""" saves the list of built in functions to a file you chose """

blist = dir(__builtins__)
	print blist
	import asl
	drawer, file = asl.FileRequest('Select a file where to save the list of built-ins', 'ram:BI_list', '', '')
	file = drawer + file 
	print file
	bfile = open(file,"w")
	for item in blist:
    		bfile.write(item + "\n")
	bfile.close()

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Not too many of us use the Amiga Standard Library (ASL). It is nice to know that Python is an integral part of Amiga Computer OS.

@vegaseat

I guess not too many indeed. Python is officially part of the AOS 4 (since 4.0 or 4.1) i am not sure.)
Since new PPC hardaware was available i bought a SAM a good year ago. I am totally new to Python and am quite disoriented. All help gladly taken

Right off the bat, I see a common mistake. Don't use 'file' as a variable name.

BTW, with the advent of Python3 file is no longer a function name.

The regular Python distribution does not contain a module asl. This is specific to the Amiga OS.

My question is what do you mean with a dictionary?
In Python there is a container called dictionary that works with key:value pairs.
It would look something like this ...

word2number_dict = {
"zero": 0,
"one": 1,
"two": 2,
"three": 3,
"four": 4,
"five": 5,
"six": 6,
"seven": 7,
"eight": 8,
"nine": 9,
"ten": 10}

@vegaseat
This is also what i mean with a dictionary. If you define some dictionary 'dict'
and do a dir(dict) you get exactly the same list as i get in the code at the print blist line:
['__class__', '__cmp__', '__contains__', '_ ...