Member Avatar for chudapati09
result = number1 / number2;

I am new to C++, but I have some knowledge in Java.
What my program does is, the program asks the user two numbers. The user could only select, one, two, or zero. Then the user would select an arithmetic operator: plus, minus, times, divide. I figured everything out except the division part.
When the user select one divide by two, the answer should come out as 0.5, but it comes out as 0. All three variables are int values, so I would need to convert them into a float or a double. But how would I cast them? I've tried doing this, float(number1), and many more similar to that, but it wouldn't work.

Thanks,
Sam

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Sam,
dividing integers truncates the decimal part, one or both of them should be float/double depending on precision of data.

int a, b, sum;//all are ints so the decimal part is truncated
a=10;
b=3;
sum=a/b; //gives 3, truncates the repeating decimal

int c;
double d;
double sum2;
c=10;
d=3.0;
sum2 = c/d; // gives 3.33333.........

double x, y, z;
x=10.0;
y=3.0;
z=x/y; //gives same 3.3333333333..............

Sam,
dividing integers truncates the decimal part, one or both of them should be float/double depending on precision of data.

int a, b, sum;//all are ints so the decimal part is truncated
a=10;
b=3;
sum=a/b; //gives 3, truncates the repeating decimal

int c;
double d;
double sum2;
c=10;
d=3.0;
sum2 = c/d; // gives 3.33333.........

double x, y, z;
x=10.0;
y=3.0;
z=x/y; //gives same 3.3333333333..............

Sorry I didn't respond back. But I figured out what was happening, it actually was stupid.
The variable result was an integer, so even if i did cast it as a float or a double the end result would have been an integer.

This is what my mistake looked like:

int result;
int number1 = 5;
int number2 = 2;

result = number1 / number2;

This is what my code looked like after I fixed it:

float result;
int number1 = 5;
int number2 = 2;