Hi all,

I am pretty new to this PERL programming.

I have heard that anything could be done with PERL's magic...
So out of my own interest, I have started learning perl language, to ease my project works(sort of Automation stuffs).
I have PERL V5.10.1 installed in my PC,and am executing my perl scripts in windows environment only.(I find there are some differences in the commands used in windows and in UNIX environment)

As am new to this, am not much aware of all the commands used in perl for different applications.It will very helpful,if anyone could give me a solution for my queries!!!

"I wanted to open a web-page using Perl scripts,say for example, by running my script I should open my web-browser(google page),What packages or modules I need to install, What specific commands will help me out in getting my google page displayed?"

Is this possible via PERL?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Are you sure this is what you want to do? If so, you can control IE through perl... Remember though it is on the CLIENT, not the server.

use Win32::OLE qw( EVENTS in with valof );
use Win32::OLE::Variant;

Win32::OLE->Option( Warn => 0 );

$HomePage = "http://www.google.com/";

$IE = Win32::OLE->GetActiveObject( 'InternetExplorer.Application' );
if( ! defined $IE )
{
    print "Can not find open object. Creating one...\n";
    $IE = Win32::OLE->new( 'InternetExplorer.Application', "Quit" )
             or die "Unable to create a IE Object\n";
}

Win32::OLE->WithEvents( $IE, \&cleanExit, 'DWebBrowserEvents2' );

$IE->{Visible} = 1;
$IE->{RegisterAsDropTarget} = 1;
$IE->{RegisterAsBrowser} = 1;

$IE->Navigate( $HomePage );

# Let IE load the page
while( $IE->{Busy} )
{
    while ($IE->SpinMessageLoop()) { select undef,undef,undef,0.25; }
}
$Doc = $IE->{Document};

sub cleanExit {
    my( $obj, $event, @args ) = @_;

if ($event eq "OnQuit") {
        print "Terminating\n";
        undef $obj;
        exit(1);
    }
}