Hi:

I'm new to this forum. First, a little about me. I'm an advanced beginner/hobbyist (oxymoron?) who has managed to learn VB by downloading, studying books and writing programs in the Express editions of VB2005 and, more recently, VB2008. Moreover I have learned to use MS SQLSever express editions as well - recently migrating from 2005 to 2008.

I have written some pretty involved data-centric applications for my company. For example, one program manages the entire purchasing and inventory control for the operation. It works great! And now I want to "deploy" it - i.e. publish and distribute this program - so that it can be used by the purchasing manager of the company. When I try to do this, I'm having problems. First, VB2008 only allows me to publish the "User Interface" project in my application (I have 3 projects, User Interface, DataAccess, and Class Library). Second, I can't seem to get it (the program) to read the data. The data is supposedly published with the program, but it's not connecting to it. (and, of course, I can't go into the published program to maniuplate the connection string.)

I would like to store the data on the Sever computer in the office as an mdf file. Then have various computers use it. But I can't even seem to download Sql Server Mgmt. Studio Express.

Is it time for me to purchase the real (as opposed to the free) versions - or can I accomplish what I'm after with the Express editions? Thanks for your help!

Cliff

In order to use the data base in the server, you should install the SQL Server server part in the server.

Then change the connection string from local to the server.

You need another project, a Setup one, in order to properly publish your application. If you use the wizard, select only the primary outputfrom the User Interface. It will scan for all required denpendencies.