I'm new to C++ and I'm having trouble understanding how to determine what to put inside a loop. I know it differs from program to program, but a lot of my assignments deal with the user inputting a number of how many numbers they want to input (it can be any number)

For example, I'm working on an assignment that asks the user how many numbers they want to enter. The user then enters any number they want. My teacher wants us to then use a for loop to ask the user to enter numbers. For example:

"How many numbers would you like to enter?" 3
"Enter a number" 3
"Enter a number" 5
"Enter a number" 7

^The loop should stop here, but it keeps asking the user to enter more numbers...This is what I have for code so far.

#include <iostream>
#include <conio.h>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
	int number, value;
		cout << "How many numbers do you wish to enter? ";
		cin >> number;
		for (number = 0; number == number; number++)
		{
			cout << "Enter a number: ";
			cin >> value;
		}

getch();
	return 0;
}

i am newbie too. so not totally sure if i am giving u the right answer.but i think the part where u have number == number. u can try to put a limit there. like number <=5 or something.of course this need to be verified by a professor of c++.

You need to read a tutorial or book about how to write for loops. The for loop has three parts
1. The sttement that initializes the loop counter and/or other variables

2. The test for a condition which will terminate the loop.

3. Increment or decrement the loop counter

Any or all of the three parts are optional and may be replaced with just ; character

For example if you want to enter a certain quantity of numbers

int num = 3;
for(int i = 0; i < num; i++)

The above for loop
1. Declares and initializes a loop counter i. If you need to use the value of the loop counter later on in the program, outside the loop, then you will have to declare the variable before the loop starts.