i'm new to java and this is my first post and a silly one too plzz help me out

under what context should these both be used and how is it internally expressed or used by the compiler

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

== has many meanings

1. When comparing simple data types (int, char, double, bool, etc), == compares the value of the two.

int x = 1;
int y = 2-1;
System.out.println( x == y ); // **** [B]prints true[/B] ****

2. When comparing two object references, it compares the value of the two references (not the value of the objects!). For example,

Integer x = new Integer(15);
Integer y = new Integer(15);
System.out.println( x == y ); // **** [B]prints false[/B] ****

x refers to an Integer object and y refers to an Integer object. Are the two references the same (do they refer to the same memory location)? No. So it prints false.

3. To compare two objects for their values you must use equals method

Integer x = new Integer(15);
Integer y = new Integer(15);
System.out.println( x.equals(y) ); // **** [B]prints true[/B]****

4. There is one exception to this and its the String class.

String x = "15";
String y = "15";
System.out.println( x == y );  // **** [B]prints true[/B]****

Why is it true? Aren't x and y different references? NO! Java returns the same reference each time the "15" was created because Strings are immutable (can't be changed) and it is inefficient to maintain many copies of an immutable object.

To prevent Java from giving you the same reference use the new operator.

String x = new String("15");
String y = new String("15");
System.out.println( x == y );  // **** [B]prints false[/B]****

For more help, www.NeedProgrammingHelp.com

thanx a lot man

that cleared most of my doubts

== in fact has only one meaning in Java. It compares the actual values of the left and right operands no matter what they are.