I am attempting to create code where the user can alter the A elements in the list continuously. If another letter in the list is replaced however, it should ask for new input from the user, and go back to the code where the user can alter A elements in the list. My code isn't working however. I am new to coding, so please don't explain things in a complicated manner. I need help!
Here is my code:

list = [['A', 'B', 'A'],['C', 'D', 'B']]
print m
f=input("Index for sublist ")
g=input("Index for sublist item ")

def errordetection ():
    print "Please select another sublist item to replace"

while (m[f][g]!='A'):
    errordetection()

if (m[f][g]=='A'):
    m[f][g]='C' 
    print list

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I am attempting to create code where the user can alter the A elements in the list continuously. If another letter in the list is replaced however, it should ask for new input from the user, and go back to the code where the user can alter A elements in the list. My code isn't working however. I am new to coding, so please don't explain things in a complicated manner. I need help!
Here is my code:

list = [['A', 'B', 'A'],['C', 'D', 'B']]
print m

def errordetection ():

while (m[f][g]!='A'):
    errordetection()

if (m[f][g]=='A'):
    m[f][g]='C' 
    print list

list = [ ... ]
should be
m = [...]

Even changing it to this still does not work:

lst = [['A', 'B', 'A'],['C', 'D', 'B']]
print lst

def errordetection ():

while (m[f][g]!='A'):
    errordetection()

if (m[f][g]=='A'):
    m[f][g]='C' 
    print list

You should change 'lst' to 'm' because your lines 11 and 14 are still referring to 'm'.

Don't use list as variable name. What is m, it is not defined before use at line 2?

Ug. How did you manage to get rid of the line numbers and code coloring? Use the (CODE) button next time, please.

There are a lot of problems, but lets start with just three: