Hello,

I'm still pretty new at this so all suggestions are much appreciated. When I set the button background image in properties, it looks great. When the button is clicked, the image needs to change. I tried to use an image list like this:

btnSample.BackgroundImage = ImlStimuli.Images.Item(0)

and I tried loading them from a file. I can get them to read, but the image always turns out blurry or distorted. I've tried all variations of alignment, BackgroundImageLayout like stretch/zoom/centered, and I changed flat style, but nothing has worked. Is there a setting or something that I'm missing in properties?

Please help and thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hello,

I'm still pretty new at this so all suggestions are much appreciated. When I set the button background image in properties, it looks great. When the button is clicked, the image needs to change. I tried to use an image list like this:

btnSample.BackgroundImage = ImlStimuli.Images.Item(0)

and I tried loading them from a file. I can get them to read, but the image always turns out blurry or distorted. I've tried all variations of alignment, BackgroundImageLayout like stretch/zoom/centered, and I changed flat style, but nothing has worked. Is there a setting or something that I'm missing in properties?

Please help and thanks in advance!

Here's the code:

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
        Button1.Image = System.Drawing.Image.FromFile("someimage.bmp")
    End Sub

Thanks, James, I appreciate your help.

Using this code, if I move the file or email the program to someone who doesn't save it in the same location, will the program not work correctly?

You can always add images to your Application's Resources.
..File Menu / Project / "your application's name" Properties.
....Resources Tab, top Button for "Add Resource", click Drop-Down arrow, select "Add Existing File...", and load your images.