im new to java and need help with this code. i need to show stars to represent the numbers which have been entered. so far my for loop is only showing the one star, how can i get it to show the number of stars which represent the amount of numbers i have entered.

System.out.println("Enter Student mark");
number = Integer.parseInt(br.readLine());
if (number <=29)
bottom = bottom + 1;
else if (number >=30 && number <=39 )
middle = middle + 1;
else if (number >=40 && number <= 69)
middletop = middletop + 1;
else if (number >=70 && number <=100)
top = top + 1;
}

System.out.print("0-29 " + bottom);
for (star=1; star <= bottom; star++); {
System.out.println("*");
}

if bottom represents five numbers, can anyone help and show how to print five stars to represent bottom.im new to java and dont understand for loops yet.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

for (star=1; star <= bottom; star++); {

Remove the semicolon in this line. Right now your loop is an empty instruction, repeated bottom times, followed by a single println.

If bottom = 5, expected output is '*****'.

String val = "";

for (int star = 0; star < bottom; start++) {
     val = val + "*";
}

System.out.println(val);

thank you. rather than have the system.out.print as val i changed it to a *. as with the sstem.out.print "val". the word val was being printed.

System.out.println("val"); is not the same as System.out.println(val); The first prints the word "val", the second prints the value contained in the variable named val .

Eric's code is good, but he isn't helping you much by not explaining what he's doing. :-/ Look at his code again - instead of creating a line by looping through print statements, he's constructing a String, valled var which has the right number of '*'s in it, and then printing that String.
It's a slightly different approach to the one you're using.