Hi I'm new to programming so I need a little help with packages. I have created 2 packages test1 and test2 with p1.java and p2.java respectively. Both have default access.
I'm trying to extend p1 with p2 and have tried to import test1 but the error im getting is that I there is no package called test2 and there is no class called p1. I have also changed the access to public but it is not helpin.
Thnaks in Advance

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

You can extend a class from a package but you can't extend the package itself
and you will have to show your directory structure and how you do your import statements

Are the both packages in the same sourse package?

Are the both packages in the same sourse package?
They just can't
That is precisely why packages were invented

ok the source package contains test1 and test2. I'm not trying to extend the package.

package test1;
class p1{
//code here
}

package test2;
import test1.p1;
class p2 extends p1{
//code here
}

This is how the programs look

make class p1 public ...............i.e

package test1;
public class p1{
//code here
}

i tried making it public but it is not recognising the package at all. also the class

Under which directory did you put the .java files as well as the .class files. I mean that for example you should do something like this:

Folder : src/test1
File: p1.java

Folder : src/test2
File: p2.java

-----------
Folder : folder path/comp/test1
File: p1.class

Folder : folder path/comp/test2
File: p2.class

CLASSPATH = folder path/comp

It doesn't have to be exactly like what I mentioned above. But the folders in which the java files are inside must have the name of their package. p1 class that has package test1 must be under a test1 folder.

If you already do that, then you need to provide more information about what you are doing and what error do you get

I've done all that......in source folder.........there are 2 folders test1 and test2
test1 contains p1.java and test2 contains p2.java.