Hi,
I need a script that will generate a set of random strings in sequence, with the ability to predetermine the length, quantity, and alphabet of individual string, and to use the outputs of earlier strings in the sequence to define the parameters of later strings. For examples, I might want to generate a one-character string with an alphabet of {1,2,3,4}, followed by X one-character strings with the alphabet {0,1}, where X equals the output of the first string. Unfortunately I don't know too much about code -- I'm not a programmer, this is for a sociolinguistics project -- but if anyone has any relatively easy ideas as to how to make this happen I'd much appreciate it.

Thanks
V

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hi,
I need a script that will generate a set of random strings in sequence, with the ability to predetermine the length, quantity, and alphabet of individual string, and to use the outputs of earlier strings in the sequence to define the parameters of later strings. For examples, I might want to generate a one-character string with an alphabet of {1,2,3,4}, followed by X one-character strings with the alphabet {0,1}, where X equals the output of the first string. Unfortunately I don't know too much about code -- I'm not a programmer, this is for a sociolinguistics project -- but if anyone has any relatively easy ideas as to how to make this happen I'd much appreciate it.

Thanks
V

I'd love to help - really I would. But - I don't really understand what you're trying to accomplish.

Why don't you give some example of the EXPECTED output of this routine?

Sure thing, opa6x57, thanks for the help.

Running the script would yield a series of strings. The parameters of the first might be something like:

Parameter1: Length=1, Count=1, alphabet={1,2,3,4,5}

Say this yielded the string /4/

The parameters of the next string (or sub-series of strings) might look like:

Parameter2: Length=[output of Parameter1] Count=[output of Parameter1], alphabet={a,b,c,d}