I'm a college student, about to have an associates degree and start working on my Bachelor's for CS. I have a project that I've been working on for a while now, and I'm thinking about making it open source, and hosting it on sourceforge. The reason I would do so, is to hopefully work with others.

My question is, will it be good or bad to put an open-source project on a resume?

Really, I couldn't find the right place to ask on daniweb. The project does use C++ and is small medium sized.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

I don't think it's possible to give a good answer to that question. It will depend on the person reading your resume whether it's good or bad.

In my eyes, it shows initiative and the ability to set something up from nothing. Also, if there are more people working on it it shows that you can work in a team (eventhough it is not the same as in a company).

So if your contribution to the project is significant, I would mention it.

If your contribution to project is good and explainable to interviewer , you can go ahead and place it in your resume.
I dont see any problem in it.Before making it open source think of all Pros and Cons of it.Your existing team should all agree to make it open source right !

Best Wishes !

If you have your own "home-brewed" project that you could make open-source, then what do you think is better on a résumé:

"I have worked on a little home project, and I think it's good."
OR
"I have started an open-source project, got several people on-board, managed to coordinate the work with them, and I even managed to get positive feedback from people who have used my code!"