Hello, I am new to C++ programming. I need to do this problem for a class but I'm a bit stuck, it's giving me many errors, could anyone point out what the problem is please?

This is the problem: A country club, which currently charges $2,500 per year for membership, has announced it will increase its membership fee by 4% each year for the next six years. Write a program that uses a loop to display the projected rates for the next six years.

And this is what I have so far:

#include<iostream>
using namespace::std;

int main()
{
int counter, total, fee;
counter = 1;

while (counter <= 6) {

cout>> "Enter initial payment: ";
		cin>>total;
		fee = 4/100*total;
		total = total + fee;
		counter = counter + 1;
}
cout << "The total per year is: " << total << endl;

return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Move these lines to before the while statement:

cout>> "Enter initial payment: ";
cin>>total;

Move this line into the while statement (before the counter increment):

cout << "The total per year is: " << total << endl;

I'd also change that line to indicate what year it is reporting on.

Also you are using int to hold your values, and 4/100 when it is an integer equals 0. Use float.
There are other things you could improve, but that should fix your problem.

Good for you for finding the CODE button. Thanks. However, your posting is still a little short of good:
Please provide the actual "many errors" (or really, just the first couple is enough)
In addition:
May I suggest that you look up operator += rather than using e.g. total = total + fee;
Although the declaration int counter, total, fee; is legal, it is a mistake waiting to happen. Better to declare each variable on its own line.