Hi guys I am quite new to java, and been trying to make a fibonacci number program just to learn more.
However I have search the web seen examples and more and I still cant get run this code, there seems to be something wrong with>

int N = Integer.parseInt(args [0]), in soecific with the index of the array.

Could someone tell me what is it?

Thanks a lot

public class Main {

public static void main(String[] args) { 
      int N = Integer.parseInt(args[0]);
      int f = 0, g = 1;

for (int i = 1; i <= N; i++) {
         f = f + g;
         g = f - g;
         System.out.println(f); 
      }
   }
}

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Are you providing any arguments on the command line?

By arugments on the command line you mean if the user provides info like when you use a scanner?

If that is what you mean no, what I want to achieve is to print out the first N Fibonacci numbers.

thanks

i.e. java Fibonacci 8

That "8" in the above "example" is what command line arguments are. If "args[0]" is throwing an IndexOutOfBoundsException (which is the only "index of the array" problem that I know of), then you haven't provided any command line arguments.

thanks a lot for your help, but how i do that?

By typing it?

If you are using an IDE then read its documentation.

You mean by changing int N = Integer.parseInt(args[0]);
to int N = Integer.parseInt(args[8]); ??

I am trying to search beleive me but i dont get it, thanks and sorry for my stupidity