//work arounds =)     v------------v
		streamReader->getline(&headerInfo[0], sizeof(headerInfo), '\n');
	}
	else
	{
		//Error
	}

return headerInfo;

The first parameter of getline wants a char* to store the data, so instead of creating an array with to many indexes(unless I add more lines of code to figure out how big i need to make my array), that wont be used, I just did this. I wanted someone to check my understanding of why this works.

a char* is a pointer that points to the address of the first index in an array of type char....So passing the address of the first index in my string works because a string is simply a char array correct?

Edit: StreamReader is a pointer to a fstream object.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Just use the other version of getline:

getline(*streamReader,headerInfo);

string is simply a char array correct?

I'm not an expert on this sort of thing, but I think the std::string class code could be implementation dependent, so I don't know to what extent you can rely on it being a simple wrapper for a C-string. The above solution gets rid of the issue altogether.