hey everyone,

i am attempting to create a simple dll in c++ that creates a timestamp, in the following format...

Which is: 17/04/2011 @ 23:32:00

thus far, i have found a code (see below), but after compiling with devc++ it doesnt seem to work, i am new with dll's and this would be my very first one but because of my lack of experience i am unable to create one, please could someone help me.

MY HORRIBLE ATTEMPT

#include <stdio.h>
#include <time.h>
#include "timestamp.h"

BOOL APIENTRY DllMain (HINSTANCE hInst,DWORD reason,LPVOID reserved )
{
    return TRUE;
}

DLL_EXPORT int timestamp()
{
    time_t     now;
    struct tm  *ts;
    char       buf[80];

now = time(0);

ts = localtime(&now);
    strftime(buf, sizeof(buf), "%d%m%Y%H%M%S", ts);
}

the code above compiles correcttly as a dll, but doesnt work when called, if anyone could help me create the full source (including a header) i need for devc++ that would be amazing and i will be so grateful, thanks for you time,

Nathaniel Blackburn.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

How about instead we help you solve what is wrong with this code.
Now, to do that.. we need to know what you mean with 'doesn't work when called'. This sentence alone is not very helpful:
Does it crash? Does it just it give output, but not what you expect? Does it give no output at all?

My guess is that latter. Why? Because there is no return statement in the timestamp() function. You should set the warning level of your compiler higher, I have never used devc++ though.

Sorry, what i mean is im not getting any output from the function

So, do you understand why? That there is no return statement, so how should it know what to return?

Thats what im stuck with im really sorry to be any hassle.

My strong point is lua. Im new to the c language. Would return be something like this...

return buf;