Guys, I am a newbie to using SQL inside the Query Builder of VB Express 2010.

Very sorry if this is a stupid question... .

I have 2 tables:
"Student Details" ( Primary key: "SID" )
and
"Level 2 Red Belt" (Primary key:"SID" )

I want after entering a record in "Student Details" to run an "INSERT INTO" query... to insert the new "Student Details" SID into the "Level 2 Red Belt".

So I use this:

INSERT INTO [LEVEL 2 RED BELT]
(SID)
SELECT SID
FROM [STUDENT DETAILS]

Now, this fine the first time. But , If add another record into "Student Details", I get an error: "Unable to perform query as there are duplicate primary keys".

So I researched and understood that I needed to add a WHERE NOT clause. My new code now is:

(SID)
SELECT SID
FROM [STUDENT DETAILS]
WHERE NOT ('[STUDENT DETAILS].SID'='[LEVEL 2 RED BELT].SID')

I tried this but got the same error.

I tried to use INSERT IGNORE, but it seems that Visual Basic Express 2010 does not like this command.

Have I done something obviously wrong?

Or is it a limitation of the Visual Basic Express 2010 application?

Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Hmm..."Where Not" is probably not a construct you want to use. We'll bypass that for the moment and get straight to your syntax.

Inside the "WHERE NOT" construct, you are surrounding you column names with single-quotes. That instructs the parser to treat them as literals rather than column names. Not good.

What you probably want to do is have something like this:

(SID)
SELECT SID
FROM [STUDENT DETAILS]
WHERE [STUDENT DETAILS].SID NOT IN
(
select * from [LEVEL 2 RED BELT].SID
where [STUDENT DETAILS].SID = [LEVEL 2 RED BELT].SID
)

It's kind of a clumsy way to do it, but it will get the job done. A better way to do it is to take advantage of different join types like so:

(SID)
SELECT SID
FROM [STUDENT DETAILS]
left join [LEVEL 2 RED BELT]
on [STUDENT DETAILS].SID = [LEVEL 2 RED BELT].SID
where [LEVEL 2 RED BELT].SID is NULL