Hey, im trying to create a string like the following in c++ but am unable to find a example in the internet in order to help me as im new to c++ and still trying to learn.

XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX

• Custom Length
  • Custom Block Size

if someone would mind how would i create a random 25 character string and tokenize it like the example above, thanks for your help, it means alot to me and look forward to your answers.

I know how this is done with lua but im looking to make this into another DLL for a project im working on, thanks :)

Nathaniel Blackburn

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

You need to be much more specific with your request. Are you trying to make a 25 char string using 5 separate, unrelated 5 char substrings? Can the substrings be of variable length as long as the total char in the string is 25? What characters are valid to use? If alphabetical characters are used is it going to be case specific? What do you mean by random string?

You need to be much more specific with your request. Are you trying to make a 25 char string using 5 separate, unrelated 5 char substrings? Can the substrings be of variable length as long as the total char in the string is 25? What characters are valid to use? If alphabetical characters are used is it going to be case specific? What do you mean by random string?

Sorry, im trying to make a random string that's tokenized, it can have any length or block length that would be specified with all parameter, upper-case, lower-case, numeric cases are allowed but no special characters as i don't think there needed. Hope this clears my request up a little more basically its like a license code style (i.e 9EDAF0-134556-7477C5-E0BC8F), thanks again.