Hi all

I think that I should start this by saying that I am fairly new to C++. Currently, I can only write basic OOP programs.

However, I have been given a task at work to compile and link some old code that we have (roughly 10 years old) to produce an executable. An error is occurring at the linking stage that I cannot seem to solve.

The error messages that I am getting are similar to the one below:

Linking...
.\Reports.def(4) : warning LNK4017: DESCRIPTION statement not supported for the target platform; ignored
   Creating library .\Debug/Reports.lib and object .\Debug/Reports.exp
Reports.exp : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: bool __thiscall CReportList::ActivateDatabaseReport(unsigned short *,unsigned short *)" (?ActivateDatabaseReport@CReportList@@QAE_NPAG0@Z)
Reports.exp : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: bool __thiscall CReportList::ActivateReport(unsigned short *)" (?ActivateReport@CReportList@@QAE_NPAG@Z)
Reports.exp : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: bool __thiscall CReportList::DeactivateReport(unsigned short *)" (?DeactivateReport@CReportList@@QAE_NPAG@Z)
Reports.exp : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "public: bool __thiscall CReportList::get_ReportText(unsigned short *,unsigned short * *)" (?get_ReportText@CReportList@@QAE_NPAGPAPAG@Z)
.\Debug/Reports.dll : fatal error LNK1120: 4 unresolved externals
Build log was saved at "file://c:\ORH\SPARSim\SPARSim_Development_JAE\02_PoliceSimulation\Reports\Debug\BuildLog.htm"
Reports - 5 error(s), 1 warning(s)

I think that the problem might be with the file Reports.def (code below).

; Reports.def : Declares the module parameters for the DLL.

LIBRARY      "Reports"
DESCRIPTION  'Reports Windows Dynamic Link Library'

EXPORTS
    ; Explicit exports can go here
	?ReportEventA@CReportList@@QAEXPAVCActivity@@@Z @1
	?ReportList@@YAAAVCReportList@@XZ				@2
	?ActivateReport@CReportList@@QAE_NPAG@Z			@3
	?DeactivateReport@CReportList@@QAE_NPAG@Z		@4