Hi everyone,

I am new in Java programming. I want to know that how to check integer variable whether it is null or not. I have a situation I write a program that asks that how old are you. If a person accidentally press enter and does not put a value, I give a message that age can't be null.

I hope someone will help ...
Regards

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

There are ints and there are Integers (there is no Java data type called integer). One is a primitive value, the other is an Object. int variables cannot be null, but Integer variables can be.
What you get when the user presses Enter depends on what method you are using. Please post the relevant part of your code.

Integers cannot be null, so I assume you mean you get null from your input method.

Post your code and perhaps someone can advise you on how to deal with the issue.

Edit: Sorry, post collision with James.

There are ints and there are Integers (there is no Java data type called integer). One is a primitive value, the other is an Object. int variables cannot be null, but Integer variables can be.
What you get when the user presses Enter depends on what method you are using. Please post the relevant part of your code.

Thanks for reply! I learn from you that int and Integers are different things. My program is here, please check it and reply.

int age;

Scanner a = new Scanner(System.in);

//I want to check that if someone did not enter value do while loop again asks same question.

do{	
		System.out.println("What is your age ?");
		age = a.nextInt();

if(age == null)
			System.out.println("Age cannot be null");

}while(age == null);

another approach would be:

1. set int age to -1;
2. input age;
3. if age < 0
no age or invalid age given by user
else
run application

Have you tried to compile your code? Does it give compiler errors?
You'll save some time if you compile it first before posting it with errors you don't know about.