Hi everyone...

My boyfriend's birthday is on Saturday, August 13...and i wanted to do something really different this time...since we are 1,000 miles apart...i was thinking if i could write a program which would generate random messages which I would already have written in the code... i was thinking of writing about 100 messages...or more..and ofcourse i only want him to have the application. I was thinking to use the GUI method...and convert the .java code file to .exe and name the application "Surprise" and have him install it in his computer.

The thing is that I am a beginner in programming and i have no idea where to start...and I realllly reallly reallly want this to happen...i know he is going to love it...

I am planning to write the program in java..and i am using netbeans IDE 7.0.1

Any help is greatly appreciated....thanks

Recommended Answers

All 47 Replies

well ... if you know nothing about programming at all, it might be a bit late to start learning if you want it to be finished within a few days.

you might pull it off, but ...

you'll need to have a GUI, if you want it to be a GUI app. I'm going totally against my principles here, but since you're not familiar with developing, are not doing this for professional reasons and are on a short 'deadline', so to say, you might want to use NetBeans drag&drop to create that.

It wouldn't help you learn to write a GUI, or help to understand how it works, but for the purpose you described above, it would work just fine.

then, either you add a new class, or you put it in the class you 've just made (the one extending JFrame), here you add an array which is filled with the messages you want to send:

String messages = {"message1","message2","message3","messageX"};

where messageX is the last message you want to put in, so in your case, it would count up to 100 or more.

then, you add a small method, which, when it is called, calculates a random number that would be a correct index for your array.