I have a string that has a ton of random characters (pulled from a webpage). I want to pull all of the numbers, commas, hyphens, periods, and percentages from the page and put them into a text file.

I'm new to C++ so I'm not sure how I'd go about doing this. I'm pretty sure I can write to a text file, but pulling the numbers and those symbols has been a bit of a struggle.

How should I do this? What's the best practice method? Please don't just link me to a help site, I've scoured the internet already. :)

Thank you so much in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

No great trick to it; you just have to think about how you'd do it yourself and then turn that into an algorithm.

Something like:

1) Start looking at string, one character at a time. Start at end of string and work backwards, so that you'll know when you're scanning a percentage (assuming that percentages are of the form xx%).
2) If character is a comma, hyphens or period, copy to file.
3) If character is a percentage or a number, scan further until found all the character making up that percentage or number and copy to file.
4) Keep going until all characters examined.

No great trick to it; you just have to think about how you'd do it yourself and then turn that into an algorithm.

Something like:

1) Start looking at string, one character at a time. Start at end of string and work backwards, so that you'll know when you're scanning a percentage (assuming that percentages are of the form xx%).
2) If character is a comma, hyphens or period, copy to file.
3) If character is a percentage or a number, scan further until found all the character making up that percentage or number and copy to file.
4) Keep going until all characters examined.

I am early enough in C++ that looking at characters is a bit of a mystery to me. Is there a method like the Java method nextInt()? I feel like I understand the logic of it, but not how to execute it.

I need full numbers, not just single digit numbers.