I am still a newbie at programming in VB.NET but I am wondering if it is possible to write a program that allows for remote support, like Teamviewer, LogMeIn, etc., using VB.Net and what is the easiest way to go about it? Only reason I ask is because I do not want to spend alot of money to purchase any of the aforementioned programs to offer remote support for my clients.

I am not looking for full code or anything but some pointers to head the right way.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I am still a newbie at programming in VB.NET but I am wondering if it is possible to write a program that allows for remote support, like Teamviewer, LogMeIn, etc., using VB.Net and what is the easiest way to go about it? Only reason I ask is because I do not want to spend alot of money to purchase any of the aforementioned programs to offer remote support for my clients.

I am not looking for full code or anything but some pointers to head the right way.

Can someone please direct me properly?

This is not a newbie project. I've been programming for 35+ years I wouldn't begin to touch it.

What would my best route of action be then? I would love to have some piece of software that is proprietary for my company but without the big price tag.

UltraVNC - http://www.uvnc.com/
TightVNC - http://www.tightvnc.com/

Are both free. There is a way to set up the builtin Windows Remote Desktop to work through firewalls, however, I tried and gave up in favour of TeamViewer. I am not endorsing either UltraVNC or TightVNC. I have never used either. I just suggest them as free possibilities. May I ask why you want something proprietary? Why not stick with software that experts have perfected (mostly) and are maintaining?

The fact of the matter is that I run a computer repair shop and am working on trying to make a name for myself in the town I live. Using Teamviewer, UVNC, TightNVC, etc could eventually mean that I have to pay if they find out I am using it free in a commercial setting.