Hi guys, I am fairly new to python. The problem I am having is manipulating the data that I read from a file. Example: if a line of the file is Monday = 0800, is it possible to break up that line so I can read Monday and 0800 separately and do whatever manipulation to that specific text.

The other problem I am having is if I read a line from a file ex: foo and I want to test if the readline() method has read that line ex:

f = open('file.txt')
line = f.readline()
while(True):
   if line == 'foo':
       print 'read line foo'

When i attempt the code above python reads the line foo but it doesn't execute the print statement. There could be something that is very easy that I am missing. Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

basic framework for this kind of thing is normally something like

sep = '='
with open('myfile.txt') as filein:
    for line in filein:
        record = line.strip().split(sep)
        #process records fields

basic framework for this kind of thing is normally something like

sep = '='
with open('myfile.txt') as filein:
    for line in filein:
        #process records fields

Thanks for the reply! I tried out your code and it removes the '='. Now my question is how can I test record in an if statement. Ex:

if record == 'Mon' or '0800':
    print 'Monday at 0800'

When I test that if statement it was true for all records in the file. Is record a string or a different data type. When record prints out it prints . I hope you understand my question. Thanks again!

Thanks for the reply! I tried out your code and it removes the '='. Now my question is how can I test record in an if statement. Ex:

if record == 'Mon' or '0800':
    print 'Monday at 0800'

When I test that if statement it was true for all records in the file. Is record a string or a different data type. When record prints out it prints . I hope you understand my question. Thanks again!