what is the use of malloc,calloc,realloc ?? i studied i didnt get proper knowledge .why instead of this why cant we use array???

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

what is the use of malloc,calloc,realloc ?? i studied i didnt get proper knowledge .why instead of this why cant we use array???

I can't explain malloc, calloc, and realloc better than all of the tutorials.
cplusplus.com is my go-to site.

http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/clibrary/cstdlib/malloc/

As to why you can't use an array, the question shows the misunderstanding. You use malloc to allocate memory so you can use an array.

int* array = (int*) malloc(100 * sizeof(int));
// now I can use it.  Without malloc, I couldn't.
array[32] = 7;

why instead of this why cant we use array???

And if you don't know the size of the array at compile time?

you need it for dynamic memory allocation. just think of a program where sb has to input a n-dimensional matrix of unkown n. let the user input n and then go forward to get the necessary memory space.
next advantage of malloc is that all the memory-places allocated stick next to each other. if you would set up static variables, their locations would be at random places. for example you want to allocate a dynamic nxn-matrix:

double *matrix;
int n;
printf("input dimension:");
scanf("%d",&n);
matrix=(double*)malloc(n*sizeof(double));

malloc is a void function so you have to bring it into a any pointer type like (int*),(float*),or(double*)
matrix then represents the start address of your memoryspace allocated.
You can access these spaces like following:

scanf("%lf",matrix[i]);  // i=0,1,2...,n-1
//that should be the same as
scanf("%lf",matrix)          //for i=0
//or
scanf("%d",matrix+3);        //for i=3

you wont need the address operator "&" cause pointers are adresses.

malloc is a void function so you have to bring it into a any pointer type like (int*),(float*),or(double*)