cin.getline(clear,sizeof(clear));

x = strlen(clear);

for(i=0;i<=x-1;i++)
{
cipher = clear+3;
}
cipher[x] = '\0';
cout<<" Encrypted:" << cipher << endl;

Hey guys I'm having trouble with Encrypt and Decrypt option when i enter my option it is not leaving me enter my string, im new to programming and cant see were the problem is.i have also a decrypted part to this code also. but just posted encrypted part as my problem is at the beginning of the program thanks in advanced guys

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

You are mixing >> and getline() in the same program. >> leaves the terminating new line char in the input buffer. The new line char is the terminating char for getline() so it sees the new line char in the input buffer left by >> as the first char in the input buffer and stops any further input into the input buffer, making it look like it didn't do anything.

Either:
a) Never mix input methods in the same program or
b) Be sure the input buffer is cleared after each input method or before each subsequent input method is called.

You are mixing >> and getline() in the same program. >> leaves the terminating new line char in the input buffer. The new line char is the terminating char for getline() so it sees the new line char in the input buffer left by >> as the first char in the input buffer and stops any further input into the input buffer, making it look like it didn't do anything.

Either:
a) Never mix input methods in the same program or
b) Be sure the input buffer is cleared after each input method or before each subsequent input method is called.

Thanks for the input. how would i go about making sure the input buffer is cleared before each method is called.